New Jersey School of Architecture

In 2013, the New Jersey School of Architecture celebrated its fortieth birthday in playing a critical role in architectural education in New Jersey and the nation. The need for a public College of Architecture in New Jersey was recognized as early as 1958, when the New Jersey Society of Architects (NJSA) actively lobbied for its creation.  In 1972, the NJSA asked the AIA to appoint a National Advisory Committee to make recommendations for a public School of Architecture in New Jersey. The Committee subsequently recommended that the School be established in Newark. In 1973, the Newark College of Engineering submitted a formal proposal to the State Board of Higher Education. With the Board's approval, the New Jersey School of Architecture (NJSOA) was born.  Concurrently, the host institution adopted the name it uses today:  the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT).

By September of that year, the NJSOA established office space in temporary quarters in Tiernan Hall. In its first year, the School consisted of founding dean Harlyn Thompson, an administrative assistant, a secretary, and two work-study students. By the first full operating year (1974-75), the School had grown to include 240 full-time students and 8 faculty members, some still active today.

Accreditation was granted in 1978, following the graduation of the first class in 1977. Dean Thompson stepped down in 1979 and was followed by Professor Barry Jackson, who was appointed acting dean and served until January of 1981. At that time, Sanford Greenfield was appointed dean and served for nearly ten years. The next dean, Urs Gauchat, was appointed in February of 1991 and retired in December 2016. Anthony Schuman is currently acting as the Interim Dean.

Since its inception, the New Jersey School of Architecture has continuously expanded its academic, research, and technical strengths. In addition to the initial accredited Bachelor of Architecture program, the School initiated other undergraduate and graduate programs to provide a variety of educational opportunities, including the Master of Architecture (NAAB accredited) and Master of Science in Architecture in 1984, the Master of Infrastructure Planning in 1996 and the Doctorate in Urban Systems in 2001. 

With the inception of the School of Art and Design (A+D) in 2008, the NJSOA became part of a larger entity: the College of Architecture and Design. Led by the vision of Dean Gauchat, and under the guidance of its founding Director, Glenn Goldman, A+D further diversified design education at NJIT through the introduction of degree programs in Industrial Design, Interior Design, Digital Design and Fine Arts. Darius Sollohub was named Director of the NJSOA in 2010, Richard Garber in early 2016, and Gernot Riether in October 2016.